Strategic Policy Committees

The statutory basis for SPCs is set out in Section 48 of the Local Government Act 2001 as amended by Section 48 (1a) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014. 

Strategic Policy Committees advise and assist the Council in its work and are tasked with the formulation and development of policy for approval by Council.

The Strategic Policy Committee Scheme 2019 - 2024 can be viewed here: Louth County Council SPC Scheme 2019-2024

There are five Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs) in Louth County Council. 

These are:

  • Economic Development and Enterprise Support 
  • Planning and Support Infrastructure
  • Housing
  • Community, Quality of Life and Creativity
  • Climate Action and Energy

The Strategic Policy Committee Standing Orders can be viewed here: Strategic Policy Committees Standing Orders

Minutes of the SPC Meetings can be found here 

Dates of SPC Meetings

Economic Development and Enterprise Support 

  • 1st  March 2022
  • 3rd May 2022
  • 6th September 2022
  • 22nd November 2022

Planning and Support Infrastructure

  •  10th February 2021
  •  14th April 2021
  •  7th July 2021


  • 15th February 2022
  • 14th June 2022
  • 13th September 2022
  • 15th November 2022

Community, Quality of Life and Creativity

  •  16th February 2022
  •  15th June 2022
  •  14th September 2022
  •  16th November 2022

Climate Action and Energy 

  • 14th February 2022
  • 27th June 2022
  • 12th September 2022
  • 12th December 2022

Economic Development and Enterprise Support

Thomas Mc Evoy, Acting Director of Planning, Economic Development and Infrastructure


Cllr. Pio Smith 

Meetings Administrator: 


Cllr. Dolores Minogue

 Cllr. Andrea McKevitt

 Cllr. Tómas Sharkey

 Cllr. Declan Power

 Cllr. Seán Kelly

External Sectoral Representatives:

Paddy Malone, Dundalk Chamber - Business/Commercial Pillar

Ms Sarah Daly, Creative Spark, - PPN Social Inclusion Pillar

 Mr Alan Mc Ardle, Faughart Community Alert - PPN Community Pillar

Mr Gerard Melia IFA - PPN Agriculture/Farming Pillar

Mr Lorcan Cooke CIF - PPN Development/Construction Pillar

Planning and Support Infrastructure

Frank Pentony, Director of Planning, Economic Development and Infrastructure


Cllr. Maria Doyle 

Meetings Administrator: 


Cllr. Antoin Watters

Cllr. Bernie Conlon

Cllr. Eileen Tully

Cllr. Edel Corrigan 

External Sectoral Representatives:

John Morgan - Social Inclusion

Richard Barry  - Community/Voluntary

Eoin Daly - Environmental/Conservation

Gerard Melia, IFA - Agriculture/Farming 

Eddie Phelan, Drogheda Chamber - Business/Commercial


Paddy Donnelly, Director of Housing and Community


Cllr. Joanna Byrne

Meetings Administrator: 

Louise Feehan, Clerical Officer


Cllr. Jim Tenanty 

 Cllr. John Reilly

 Cllr. Fiachra MacRaghnaill

 Cllr. Kevin Meenan

 Cllr. Conor Keelan

External Sectoral Representatives:

Andrew Califf, Dundalk Simon Community - Social Inclusion PPN College

Pat McCormick- Development/Construction Business Pillar

Colm O'Hanrahan - Trade Unions Trade Union Pillar

Community, Quality of Life and Creativity

Paddy Donnelly, Director of Housing and Community


Cllr. Emma Coffey

Meetings Administrator: 

John Lawrence


Cllr. Maeve Yore

Cllr. Michelle Hall

Cllr. Paddy McQuillan

Cllr. Pearse McGeough

Cllr. John Sheridan 

External Sectoral Representatives:

Fiona Crawley - Environment

Colin Roche - Social Inclusion

Susan Farrelly - Arts 

Gráinne Berrill - Sports 

Stacey McVeigh - Youth

Climate Action and Energy 

Catherine Duff, Director of Operations, Waste Management and Environmental


Cllr. Liam Reilly

Meetings Administrator: Catherine Duff


Cllr. Kevin Callan 

Cllr. James Byrne 

Cllr. Tom Cunninghamn

Cllr. Marianne Butler

Cllr. Paula Butterly

External Sectoral Representatives:

Pat Mulligan, Dromiskin Tidy Towns - Community PPN College 

Liam Woods, Louth Environmental Network - Environmental PPN College

Eugene Conlon, Dunleer Sustainable Energy - Environmental PPN College

Miriam Simon, Drogheda Chamber - Business Pillar

Gerard Melia, IFA - Farming Pillar