Civic Honours

The Council under Section 74 of the Local Government Act, 2001 may confer Civic Honours on a distinguished person. This on rare occasion can include allowing the admission of a person to the honorary freedom of its administrative area. The following is the roll of honours previously given.

Freedom of County Louth 

Date Granted Name
25th June 2016Mr. Joe Biden, Vice President of United States of America

Civic Honours Awarded by Louth County Council 

Year Granted Name 
1998Josie KiernanMountaineer
2000Táin Ceili Band
2000Dr Sean McDonaghDundalk Institute of Technology (DKIT)
2000Thomas GernonWinner of Aer Lingus Young Scientist of Year
1957 - 2006Dermot O Brien & Louth All Ireland Winners
2009Tallanstown Tidy TownTidy Town’s Winners
2022Amy BroadhurstWorld Boxing Champion

Freedom of Drogheda 

Date Granted Name
1st February 1877Isaac Butt Esq
1st February 1877Benjamin Whitworth Esq MP
1st February 1881Charles Stewart Parnell MP
2nd October 1882Sir Garnet Holsey KCB
7th May 1888John Dillon MP
12th December 1889Rt. Hon. G.J. Shaw Lefevre
27th July 1904His Eminence, Cardinal Vincent VanitelliPapal Legate to Ireland
19th February 1902John Edward Redmond MPLeader of the Irish Nationalist Parliamentary Party
14th September 1909Captain E. O’Meagher Condon
14th September 1909John O’Callaghan EsqBoston, USA
30th June 1914His Grace, The Most Reverend
John J. Glennon D.D.
Archbishop of St. Louis
17th March 1915Lance Corporal William Kenny V.C.Greenhills, Drogheda
17th August 1920His Grace, The Most Reverend
Daniel Mannix D.D.
Archbishop of Melbourne
28th June 1932His Eminence Cardinal Lorenzo
On the occasion of his visit to Drogheda during the 31st International Eucharistic
27th November 1935Eamonn De ValeraPresident, Irish Free State
1st August 1939Seán T. O’Reilly T.D.Minister for Local Government and Public
15th February 1953His Eminence John Cardinal D’AltonArchbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland
16th December 1956Right Reverend Monsignor John
F. Stokes, P.P. V.G.
St. Peter’s Drogheda
26th April 1959His Eminence Cardinal CushingArchbishop of Boston, USA
31st July 1962His Eminence Michael Cardinal Browne O.P.On the occasion of his visit to Drogheda following his elevation to the Sacred College
of Cardinals
25th August 1964Right Reverend Monsignor Henry Farrell P.P. V.G.St. John’s Perth, Ontario, Canada
13th May 1965His Eminence William Cardinal ConwayOn the occasion of his visit to Drogheda following his elevation to the Sacred College
of Cardinals
6th June 1966Reverend Mother Mary Martin,
Mother General
Medical Missionaries of Mary
29th September 1979His Holiness Pope John Paul II
19th March 1980His Eminence Tomás Cardinal Ó FiaichOn the occasion of his visit to Drogheda following his elevation to the Sacred College of Cardinals
28th July 1980Right Reverend Monsignor James Lennon
28th June 1990Dr. Patrick J. HilleryUachtarán na hÉireann
5th July 1992His Eminence Cahal Cardinal DalyArchbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland
3rd April 1993Mary RobinsonUachtarán na hÉireann
14th April 1997Brother Edmund GarveyCongregation Leader of the Christian Brothers
12th December 1999Dr. Thomas K. WhitakerPublic Servant
11th May 2001John Hume MP MEPNobel Peace Laureate
27th June 2002Gary KellyProfessional Footballer
12th May 2010Oliver MurphyFounding Member of the Irish Wheelchair Association
9th May 2013Garda Patrick Morrissey(Posthumous) who gave his life in the service of his country on 27th June 1985
24th October 2013Father Ignatius O’DonovanAugustinian Prior Drogheda 1993 -1997 and 2007 - 2013
22nd May 2015Michael D. HigginsA life devoted to public service, creativity and advocacy
8th June 2018Séamus MallonA life devoted to public service, human dignity and advocacy
10th January 2020Ambassador Geraldine Byrne NasonDedicated service to public life

Drogheda Mayoral Awards 

Year Granted Name 
2017Geraldine Byrne
2017Rev Monsignor James Carroll PP
2017Rev Fr James Dunleavy
2017Andrew Reddan
2017Garda Superintendent Andrew Watters
2017The Irish Coast Guard
2017Ferrard Day Centre
2017Drogheda Men's Shed
2017Balsanter Text Alert Community Group
2017Philip Mc Cabe
2017William Mynes
2017Fleadh Cheoil Na hEireann 2018, Drogheda Committee
2017Louth Family Carers Support Group
2017Micheál Holohan
2018Fintan McCarthy
2018Gerard Fay
2018St Oliver's Scout Group
2018Fr Colm O'Mahony
2018Drogheda Civic Trust
2018St John's Ambulance Service
2018Irish Red Cross
2018Earl Gorman
2018Lourdes Brass Band
2018Patrick Joseph O'Brien HSE National Ambulance Service
2018The Sisters of Mercy
2018Sonny Kierans
2018Seamie Briscoe
2018Malachy McCloskey
2018Aaron Finnegan
2018Jim Gorman
2019Anita O'Shea
2019Anthony Murphy
2019Brian Conyngham
2019Brian Hanratty
2019Bridie Maxwell
2019Declan Power
2019Des Clinton
2019Donnchadha MacRaghnaill
2019Edward Holly
2019Fiona O'Connell
2019Frances O'Regan
2019Gerry Watson
2019John Mc Cullen
2019Liam Reilly
2019Maria O'Brien Campbell
2019Matthew Donnelly
2019Noel Bailey
2019Pastor Amos
2019Roisin Curtis
2019Stephen Early
2019Tomás Ó H'Eochaidh
2020Hubert Murphy
2020Liam Reay
2020Patrick Rice
2020John Kierans
2020Fr. David Bradley
2020Sharon Gaynor
2020Rachel Eagleton
2020Séamus Donegan
2020Maria Van Strein Murphy
2020Geraldine Doggart
2020Des McDonnell
2020Holy Family Boxing Club
2021Fr. Phil Gaffney
2021Alison O’Reilly
2021Thomas McGuire
2021Denise Tuohy
2021Eileen Rushe
2021Dr Amy Morgan
2021Natalie Jane Kelly
2021Paul Bell
2021Séamus Davis
2021Retired Garda Sgt Anne Byrne
2022James Moonan
2022Professor Kevin Mc Guigan
2022Robert Murray
2022Tullyallen Mens Shed
2022Margo Duffy
2022Padraig Rath
2022Christy Mangan
2022Sam Mulroy
2022Sr. Carol Burke

Ardee Civic Awards

2018Ardee Community School Senior Boys GAA Football Team
2018Brendan Matthews
2018Dromiskin Tidy Towns
2018Mal Reilly
2018Oliver Kirwan
2018Pat Roddy
2019Dee Hub
2019Benny Grogan
2019Brendan Hoey
2019Candy Holten
2019Clogherhead Liftboat Crew
2019David Carrie
2019Kevin Halpenny
2019Pat Mulligan
2019Patricia Reid
2019Willie Martin
2020Paul Lannon
2020Mattock Rangers GFC
2020Ardee Concert Band
2020Padraig Lynch
2020Nicolas McQuillan
2020Ardee Youth LGBTQ
2020Patricia Kieran
2020Multiple Sclerosis Society of Ireland, Louth
2021Liam Reynolds
2021Josephine Brennan
2021Hubert Murphy
2021Sisters of Mercy
2021Colman O'Flynn
2021Peter Callan
2021Togher Info Community Group
2021Gearoid O'Caoilte as Cill Sarain
2021Cllr. Hugh Conlon RIP
2021Conor Carrie
2021Amy Sheridan
2021Tadhg O'Brien

Dundalk Civic Awards 

2017Rosemary Winkless
2017Barney Kirk
2017Elliot Kwelele
2017Blackrock Tidy Towns
2017James Neary
2017Tony Duffy
2017Amy Broadhurst
2017St. Therese's Special Olympics Club
2017Eve McCrystal
2017Dundalk Red Cross FACE Team(First Aid Convention of Europe)
2017Breda Mooney
2017Brendan Connolly
2018Colette O'Hagan
2018David Jinx Lennon
2018Freda Hearty
2018Gerry Gover
2018Joe Martin
2018Louth SPCA
2018Maurice, Josephine, John and Tim Murphy
2018Noel Sharkey
2018North Louth Hospice
2018Oliver Murphy
2018Patience Jumbo-Gula, Kate O'Connor, Gine Akpe-Moses
2018Tara Erraught
2018Willie Duffy
2019Dundalk Simon Community
2019Dundalk Social Service Council
2019Eamonn Quinn
2019Gary Hoey
2019Gerry Foran
2019Jock McArdle
2019Kilkerley Dancing Programme Committee
2019Larry Magnier
2019Micheál McKeown RIP
2019Nicky McCourt
2019Paddy McEneaney
2019Peter Lawless
2019The Birches Alzheimer Day Care Centre
2019Young Irelands Junior Football Team
2020Dundalk Brass Band
2020Caolan Rafferty
2020Friary Youth Club
2020Dundalk Ravens Basketball Club
2020Bernadine Quinn
2020Mary Murtagh
2020Joe Murtagh