Architectural Heritage

Primary responsibility for the protection of our architectural heritage rests with the planning authority,Louth County Council.

Under the Planning and Development Act 2000 all planning authorities are required to establish a Record of Protected Structures in their operational area. Additional structures for inclusion are suggested by the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (through the Minister). A national survey of architectural heritage has been carried out and is published as a series of books and online. To see the results of the NIAH survey for county Louth, click on the following link NIAH for Louth.

Not all architectural heritage qualifies to be designated as a Protected Structure. Wider areas can be designated as Architectural Conservation Areas, or 'ACAs'. There are several of these in County Louth, including in Drogheda, Dundalk and some rural areas e.g. Whitestown). Information leaflets were produced on some of these ACAs in 2008, with funding from the Heritage Council, and are available elsewhere on this website. In-depth architectural characterisation studies were commissioned in 2011, again with the funding support of the Heritage Council. 

Last updated: 7th August 2019